About                                                  Works                                             Exhibitions & Projects                                                                                                  Publishing                                      News & Links               Instagram


Two sided vinyl record, gatefold cover, insert publication.
First edition of 100 copies.
Released and distributed by Heutigen Records.

(FRIEDRICH) collects the only trace known today of the music of Federico Waelder (born Friedrich Wälder), a German Jewish pianist and grandfather of the artist, exiled in Chile during the Third Reich. It contains a jazz improvisation on the B-side in duet with his grandson Ian Waelder, which was played on a German radio station once a month during 2020. On side A a speech in Spanish by the pianist can be heard with his grandson's dubbing into German. The EP is accompanied by a publication that contextualises the work, with contributions by Louisa Behr, Sofia Lemos and Pau Waelder, among others. This work is extended with the creation of the fictitious record label Heutigen Records, from where one of the one hundred copies of the vinyl can be purchased.

Vinyl record:

Two sided 12” 45rpm vinyl record, gatefold cover, insert publication.
Duration: Side A: 11:26 min / Side B: 07:12 min.
Country: Chile – Germany.
Released: 2021.
Genre: Jazz, Poetry.

Purchase a copy for 60€.

Exhibition view:

(FRIEDRICH) displayed at Fabra i Coats, Barcelona, 2021.
As part of the group exhibition Guanyar-se el pa, by the finalists of the Sant Andreu Contemporani prize.

Record player, loud speakers, three vitrine tables.


32 pages.
Black and white.
28 x 28 cm
Contributions by Federico Waelder, Wolfgang Kress, Sofia Lemos, Ben Livne Weitzman, Louisa Behr, Carolina Castro Jorquera, Pau Waelder, Camilo Araya Fuentes.


to navigate the contributions of the publication in online version

Photo documentation on this website by:
John Forest, Natasha Lebedeva, Lúa Oliver, Ivan Murzin, Iain Emaline, Juan David Cortés, Paul Levack, Jiyoon Chung, Augustine Paredes, Juande Jarillo, Eva Carasol, Sebastiano Luciano, Nick Ash
© Ian Waelder, 2024